Week In Review, 12/5-12/11

This week…well, it fucking sucked.

Monday, 12/5

Woke up and my right eye would not open.  No, it wasn’t glued shut with eye boogers, but I could barely get it to open.  I actually had to pull my car over a couple of times on the drive to work because I was swerving around like a drunk.  Once I got to work and downed a couple stout mugs of Cold Brew, the eye worked a little better.  Got through my work day, then when I was changing into my running stuff, caught a glimpse of my face in the mirror.  Instead of complimenting myself on how handsome I am or making daily affirmations, I noticed the problematic eye was very red.  Not just the eye itself, but the lid and underneath my eye.  Red, like infectious red.  So, I decided to drive to the doctor instead.  To sum it up:  eye infection, not serious, just put on antibiotics that made me shit for two days straight.  You guessed it:  no running.

Tuesday, 12/6-Wednesday, 12/7

Netflix.  Amazon Prime.  HBO Go.  You Tube.  Read a little bit, too.  Oh yeah, and I’m pretty sure I either shat or puked out pretty much everything I ate.  Fun times!

Thursday, 12/8

I’m not trying to poo-poo on the many pictures I saw of Portlanders frolicking or running through the snow.  I’ll just be honest.  I grew up in Montana, so I’m over that shit.  When it snows here, all it means to me is a couple days of dealing with bad drivers, which is quite a statement when I live in the Mecca of bad driving.  It was my first day back to work, still feeling the antibiotics reeking hell on my guts…so no running.

Friday, 12/9

Hmmm…let me think.  Sat in my mechanic’s waiting room.  Sat in my doctor’s waiting room.  Stood in line at a few stores.  Got stuck in traffic.  Stomach still grumbling.  No running, just excuses.  Got a lot of reading and writing done, though.

Saturday, 12/10

I decided, since my stomach was still bobbing around like a buoy in stormy waters, to take a hike on the Wildwood.  About a mile in, I was glad I did.  I don’t mean to sound overly dramatic, but the Wildwood got fucking massacred during the snow storm.

IMG_1599.jpg

This picture is a little blurry because I was trying not to fall on my ass.  As I took it, a lady ran up behind me, dressed for a good run, and stopped as if she were staring into the abyss.  That was not the last dismal expression I saw, but to be fair, there were some people smiling.  There were certainly more people than I expected there to be.  Lots of tree carnage.  I did my best to clear stuff off as I came to it, but some of those branches and trunks are weighted down by the ice they are still encapsulated in.

IMG_1600.jpg

This picture does not do the scene justice.  An entire tree uprooted, pulling up a giant chunk of the trail.  Another scene that made me glad I was on a hike.  Several branches were hanging much lower than usual, again, weighted down by the ice.  The runners I saw out there have all my respect.  Honestly, by the end of the hike, I wished I had at least brought my running gear to try it.  Sitting here now, I’m giving Mother Nature a little more time to thaw the ice/mud that is the Wildwood.

It ended up being a pretty good hike.  6-miles, out and back, in about an hour and a half.  I’m excited to get back, hopefully this Wednesday, to have a go in my running gear.  Forecast for this week calls for snow again, so it should be interesting.

Sunday, 12/11

I worked and wrote this.  More running this week, that’s the goal.

 

Leave a Reply

