Weeks Go By

First off, I’m stoked that Hoka One One just released the Speedgoat 2!  Though the first version of the Speedgoat didn’t quite fit my foot (caveman feet), I was impressed with the design and it was a shoe I really wanted to like.  From the product description on Hoka’s site, as well as a great review from Hoka athlete Sage Canaday, the narrow design of the first version has been expanded to give a wider toe box and midsole.  I cannot wait to try these out.  Also, I’m frequently checking Hoka’s site for the Clifton 4.  I’ve gushed over the Clifton 3 plenty and this update looks like a major overhaul.  That could make some nervous, as I remember hating the Clifton 2, though I’d never tried the original, many reviewers said the update was TOO different from the original.  I’m optimistic about the fourth version, only because it seems like Hoka listens very closely to customer feedback, not to mention the cast of elites they sponsor.  Exciting summer for shoe releases, as well as updates from my favorite Altra shoes, Olympus 2.5 and the Lone Peak 3.5.

The rain in Portland has finally let up.  I can tell the city is feeling a bit renewed with a hearty dose of vitamin D, accompanied by sidewalks filled with Portlanders day drinking on extended patios of brewpubs.  I can tell that there’s a little spring in other runners step.  The Wildwood is green, the Springwater Corridor is a brightly lit, and the Eastbank Esplanade is a mix of leisurely strolls and commuter cyclists.  It feels nice that things are more vibrant around this part.  It was one hell of a winter.

IMG_1933.jpg

Another running tool I’ve been looking forward to is the release of Sarah Lavender Smith’s book, The Trail Runner’s Companion.  Got my copy yesterday and I am stoked.  This book is exactly what I have been looking for.  It has something for everyone.  I consider myself somewhere between beginner and intermediate, and Sarah’s chapters are just the kind of information I’m looking for.  I’m sure many advanced trailrunners could find a lot of great stuff, too.  I plan on writing a full review as soon as I finish it, but so far this book is excellent.  The layout, great photography, and her writing make the information flow well.  If you’re not familiar with Sarah, you should be.  She is a coach, writer (her excellent blog and Trail Runner Magazine), accomplished ultrarunner, and frequent co-host of UltraRunner Podcast.  If you are looking for some tips to hone your running or training schedule, Sarah Lavender Smith is a great resource, and this book will definitely add to the great contributions she’s given to the trailrunning community.

Screen Shot 2017-06-02 at 9.37.35 PM.png

Portland Monthly, the local magazine that covers everything PDX, did a great feature on Forest Park.  I wasn’t aware of some changes that are planned for the park in the near future.  My first reaction was pessimistic , as I don’t want the park to become crowded, but the more I read the articles, but that’s selfish, and it’s a damn big piece of land.  There’s lots of great stuff in there and I’d encourage you to go take a look or pick up a copy if you can find one.

As for me, I’m still in the process of getting my butt back in gear.  Modified the Sage Running Training Plan I purchased earlier this year and made sure to tailor it to my schedule.  I’m going to approach this with loose expectations.  I’ve learned that I am not in a place where I can go “all-in” on a training plan.  I work a physically demanding job, which also requires early morning starts, and usually by the end of the week I’m exhausted.  The plan is to try and stick to the 5-day schedule, but accept that there will be weeks where I may be a 3 or 4-day schedule.  There are key workouts that I’ve set in stone:  the long run and the recovery run the following day.  I would not say I’m at the base fitness I want to be, but I think I can reach that base within a month, and then it won’t be the end of the world if I skip a mid-week maintenance run because I’ve been in a hot ass roastery for 8-hours and it’s 90F outside.  There’s a few goals I have in mind for the fall in terms of distance (no races this year) and I’ll see how I feel in mid-July before I make a decision, or decisions.

Strength training and core work are also making a comeback.  I set an ambitious schedule of 3 dedicated strength and core routines, as well as a short yoga session on my rest day.  Finally bought a foam roller and am going to focus on recovery as much as training, something I’ve strayed from in past.

That’s all for now.  Once again, if you are reading and would like to contribute to this site, please feel free to hit me up via email and let me know.

Leave a Reply

